Passage International's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

GREG OGDEN, PERSONAL PASSAGE 2008

leave a comment »

GREG OGDEN, PERSONAL PASSAGE 2008

I went into the whole experience with a bit of hesitation. I had taken two years of French and two years of Spanish classes with mediocre results at best. Outside the U.S. I had only been to France for a week or so and was accompanied by friends and teachers. The hesitation quickly subsided when I met Yanik and Vidhea and immediately knew if I had any problems they would be there to take care of me. My first encounter with my home stay family was another uplifting moment when I realized the next two months would be spent with a warm and happy family who all shared the same wonderful sense of humor. Volunteering at Sewa Kendra’s leprosy clinic and school was yet another one of the many rewarding experiences. I only wish I had more time and energy to spend with the children and wonderful staff there. I became good friends with Phuntsok, my Tibetan language teacher, which made it much easier to go to class. I came to find real joy in learning the language and speaking with new friends. Kutztown University in Pennsylvania is granting me 12 credits in foreign language. This will be the last of my graduation requirements with a BA in philosophy and would like to pursue further studies in Tibetan language and Buddhist philosophy. I’ve caught the KTM bug and I’m sure I’ll be back when circumstances allow. I’m forever grateful to Passage Project and everyone that helped make this possible and thoroughly enjoyable. My fondest thoughts and wishes are with them all.”

Written by passageinternational

March 14, 2010 at 9:21 pm

Posted in Uncategorized

Leave a comment